2016 MEMORY VERSE #9

“Make it your ambition to lead a quiet life, to mind your own business and to work with your hands, just as we told you, so that your daily life may win the respect of outsiders and so that you will not be dependent upon anybody” (1Thes 4.11,12).

1thes 4 11 12

First time I read this verse, I thought there was a misinterpretation somewhere. Surely, Paul isn’t imploring us to “mind your own business” and “not be dependent upon anybody?” When I decided to memorize the verse, I looked into the context of the epistle learning that these Christians were so expectant of Christ’s return that they gave up working and their hunger sent them door-to-door begging for handouts while also sharing the Gospel. Obviously, not a good representation of our Lord’s message.

When one is dependent upon another financially, spiritually, or emotionally, they become beholden to the desires, beliefs, and traditions of the one upon whom they depend. If another studies the Word for me, then my knowledge is a lesser version of theirs. If my paycheck depends upon the tithes, offerings, or charity of others rather than “working with your hands,” then my inclination will be to please those who pay my bills. In other words, dependency upon people, even those who belong to Christ, negates dependency to our Lord.

dependent

Non-Christians do not respect the Christian who knows God’s Word but doesn’t know his own job well enough to do it. They respect those who do their job well and “quietly,” even more if their religion preaches kindness, humility, and compassion. Like me, you’ve probably never met a Christian who came to Christ because of a sermon alone; but rather because they saw Jesus reflected in the lives of those they respected.

win respect

May my life win the respect of outsiders as God’s Word through me wins their hearts and minds.

About mikewarren4gzus

Disciple of Jesus Christ, husband and father of three, Army officer, and Mike4gzus on XBOX Live.

Posted on February 29, 2016, in Just a Thought and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment